employment · School

March ….”Spring has sprung, the grass is ris, I wonder where the birdies is?”

Perhaps someone should have a word with the weather and remind it that spring has officially sprung!

I think we usually expect snow in the months leading up to Christmas, although I do remember a very heavy snowfall 27 years ago when I was expecting No 2 son! It has caused more than a few problems over the last few weeks – I did feel it was beautiful when my world was white over, still and quiet. However, it’s not such a good feeling when when you know you should try to get into work. The thought of sliding across the roads, bumping into snow drifts or the odd tractor storming towards you down single track country lanes did not fill me with enthusiasm. Luckily as I only work 2.5 days a week the snow appeared on an ‘off’ day – phew relief flooded through me! No need to worry – I could watch the white, wintry world from the safety of my warm cosy house. I did venture out well it would be rude not to see how Mother Nature spreads the white stuff around.

dav

dav

dav

I have now been at my new job for almost five weeks and it is becoming more familiar. It’s a very old school and it is FREEZING I have never worn so many layers to go to work before and I’ve even invested in some thermal vests!

It has been a big change to the school I worked at for all those years. In the sense that is is so very unorganised and it is driving me nuts! I love organisation – in fact I am well known for my love of a ‘box or a basket’ to tidy stuff into. What can I say – tidiness makes me feel happy. In fact I’m really happy the Head is also new, as advanced procedures are being introduced and staff can’t blame me for them – can they!

My other half says I have caused waves but in a good way. I say the Head employed me a) because no one else accepted the position – hmm b) hopefully because I have the knowledge of how a good school office should function – I’m sticking with b.

I have realised that I do enjoy a challenge and I am hoping that I am making a difference to the way the school runs and it will become more efficient. However, at the moment I feel am going two steps forward and one back, but maybe that’s how it will continue for a while. As they say it is a learning curve.

After a very hesitant and stressful start I am feeling more positive towards this job although I am still a little unsure if it’s a long lasting position.

Keep smiling, drink frothy coffee and eat cake… Maz xpexels-photo-531834.jpeg

Leave a comment