Christmas · Family · Holiday

Christmas…Bah humbug? or whoohoo!?

Do you enjoy Christmas? Or do you think…. possibly as I do…that the whole world…well maybe just the county then, is having a much more fantastic time than I am? Everyone is posting pictures on social media wearing sparkly tops, drinking cocktails at a Christmas market or in some swanky bar, while I’m sitting at home I’m my PJ’s. I stress obsess over making this time of year special and honestly would love to be invited to share a family lunch. Somewhere I could just turn up in my sparkly top, clutching something fizzy and presents. Hey, I’m happy to muck in and would heartily do the washing up or keep the littlies entertained….if I didn’t have to prepare anything other than choosing the wrapping paper and matching gift tags.

To add slightly to my ‘stressmas’ is a lovely son, who is vegan and who visits us for the holidays. Not mega problematic but when we are primarily a meat eating household with vegetarian options it can send me off kilter. You will quite often find me in the free from aisle in a large supermarket reading the reverse of packets as if they were the next bestselling novel. Thank goodness he’s quite handy in the kitchen and is happy to take over. 

Don’t let’s get started on the present buying. My father has the best idea. His Christmas shopping consists of popping to the bank and buying money gift cards..  sorted! 

Next year…as Del Boy and Rodney were fond of saying…we are going on a trip away. Where someone else can do the ‘stressmas’….I’ve already picked out my sparkly top and shoes! See you there maybe 😃

I’m not completely bah humbug but would appreciate a little more whoohoo at Christmas time. 🎄

Why do we put ourselves through this madness every year…..because it’s Christmaaaassss! 

Smile 😃 Maz x

Leave a Reply

